European Visa Waiver for Hungary

Electronic Travel
Authorization Available

European Visa Waiver for Hungary

The ETIAS for Hungary is an electronic visa waiver that will be introduced in 2024 and permit visa-exempt countries to travel to Hungary and other Schengen Area citizens for short stays.

Hungary’s ETIAS Visa Waiver will be a multiple-entry travel authorisation allowing admission into the Schengen Area for transit, business, or medical treatment.

ETIAS is not a visa, which should be noted. Travellers without a visa for Hungary must sign up with ETIAS to enter the country.

To pre-screen visitors to Europe before they arrive at Schengen borders and enhance safety and security within the Schengen area, the European Parliament has approved the ETIAS application for Hungary.

The Hungary European Visa Waiver will permit a maximum stay of 90 days per 180-day period for each entry into the Schengen area. It will be effective for three years in total after the date of approval.

The straightforward ETIAS application form for Hungary can be filled out online in minutes by foreign nationals without a visa for the Schengen Area. 

To receive an approved ETIAS Hungary by email, completing an application form and responding to several Health and safety-related concerns is essential.

For further information, contact a Hungarian embassy/consulate if you are qualified to apply ETIAS to Hungary and want to travel to the Schengen Area for more than one trip in a row.

Hungary's ETIAS requirements

The applicant must possess a passport from an eligible nation valid for at least three months past the scheduled dates of entry into Hungary and the Schengen Zone to qualify for the Hungary ETIAS visa waiver.

According to the ETIAS rules for Hungary, the applicant must enter the Schengen Area using the same passport to apply.

Due to their dual citizenship, applicants who hold several passports should be aware of this.

The applicant must additionally complete the form with a variety of personal, passport, and travel details to fulfil the requirements for an ETIAS for Hungary, 

Additional ETIAS requirements for visiting Hungary may be made public closer to the launch in 2024; as they become available, they will be posted on this website.


How long can I stay in Europe under the Hungary ETIAS Visa Waiver?

Since Hungary is a member of the EU, its nationals can currently visit for a maximum of 90 days without leaving Europe or the Schengen Area with a visa or other travel authorisation. However, these same individuals must register for an ETIAS before travelling to any of the Schengen nations once the ETIAS visa waiver for Hungary becomes obligatory in 2024.

An authorised multiple-entry electronic travel authorisation under the ETIAS Europe visa waiver application is valid for Hungary. Holders of a visa waiver for Hungary can repeat transitory brief visits in any Schengen-zone citizens for business, travel, healthcare, or transit.

With each entry into Hungary and the Schengen Area, ETIAS applicants are permitted a maximum stay of 90 days throughout each 180-day term. A valid ETIAS Hungary is valid for three years after it is issued.

ETIAS-eligible individuals must apply for a Hungary Schengen visa at the closest Hungarian diplomatic mission if they intend to stay in Hungary for more than 90 days or travel for activities like employment, living, or school.

Downloading, printing, and filling out an application form is the first step in applying for a Schengen visa for Hungary. The next step is to schedule an appointment for a Hungary Schengen visa at a Hungarian consulate.

At the appointment, the applicant must present a passport of at least three months, valid from the desired date of entry into the Schengen area, and the filled-out Hungary visa application form. Depending on the reason for the desired stay in Hungary, a variety of supporting documents must also be provided.

Hungary Schengen visas that have been authorised may be issued as multiple, double, or single-entry visas. The issuing embassy and the trip’s objectives determine the length of stay permitted with each admission.

Countries Eligible for Hungary

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • United Kingdom

Information on ETIAS:

The ETIAS visa waiver is a multiple-entry travel permit. Therefore, it may be used to enter Hungary more than once while still valid.

After the date of ratification, ETIAS Hungary remains in effect for three years.

An electronic travel permit called ETIAS Hungary enables people without a visa to travel to Hungary and the Schengen Area for brief visits. Registering with this online method allows you to skip going through the more involved visa application process. Visitors who are not visa-exempt must have a Schengen visa to enter Hungary and the Schengen Area.

For all qualified nations, the government expense for the Hungary ETIAS is anticipated to be the same. It has not yet been declared, but it will be posted on this website once it is.

Application ETIAS

It is essential to fill out personal, passport, and travel details on the ETIAS for Hungary application, 

A recognised nation must issue the applicant’s passport and have at least three months left after the scheduled arrival date in Hungary and the Schengen Area.

Additionally, applicants must include a current email address to get the approved ETIAS Hungary and correct credit or debit card information to pay the ETIAS charge.

Qualified candidates can complete a straightforward online application to have an authorised ETIAS Hungary sent to the email address specified on the form.

A family may apply to ETIAS Hungary. family or other organisation, but each passenger must submit a separate application.

ETIAS Questions:

No, the ETIAS authorises the holder to enter Hungary and the Schengen Area. Still, a specific immigration officer will decide whether or not to grant entrance once they arrive at the border check.

Applicants should be able to reapply if their ETIAS visa waiver request for Hungary was denied. Before submitting the form, verifying that all the information is accurate will be crucial.

Which ETIAS fields, if any, may be changed following approval for the ETIAS Hungary have not yet been disclosed.