Electronic Travel
Authorization Available


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations developed the electronic visa known as the ASEAN visa. (ASEAN). It will soon be available via a straightforward online application and is also known as the ASEAN common visa (ACV).

Once in effect, the visa permits the bearer to travel to any of the 10 ASEAN members for the period of its validity. You may find all the information that is currently available regarding this upcoming online visa on this page, along with details about what qualifications visitors must meet and how to quickly and easily apply from home.

Visa information for ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) visa is being implemented with the intention of enabling travel for leisure and commerce between all of the ASEAN member nations.


The increased connectivity provided by the common visa is anticipated to increase traveler arrivals across the entire economic union by up to 6–10 million annually. This might generate an estimated $12 billion in tourist revenue for the ASEAN nations, leading to the creation of a sizable number of new jobs in the travel and tourism sectors in member states, fostering economic growth, and lowering poverty levels in the area.

By pre-screening visitor arrivals before access to the Association, the ASEAN common visa is also anticipated to tighten the frontiers of the economic union. As a result, it will also assist in lowering local transnational crime and unauthorized immigration.

ASEAN Visa Policy

Currently, each of the 10 ASEAN members maintains its own visa regulations. However the implementation of the ASEAN single visa is a step in the direction of a shared visa policy akin to that of the nations in the European Schengen Area.


The introduction of the ASEAN visa mandates that the participating nations closer align their visa regulations and use a standardized application process. Once it is put into effect, it is anticipated that the visa will give the holder the same amount of time to visit each ASEAN nation.

Holders of an authorized common visa will be able to access all 10 ASEAN member states as if they were a single destination, despite the fact that each ASEAN member state now requires a separate visa in order to visit.

Visa Requirements for ASEAN:

When it is introduced, the ACV will be accessible through a quick online application that anyone who qualifies can finish in a few minutes. Anywhere in the world can submit the ASEAN visa application online.

Travelers no longer need to visit embassies or consulates to secure a visa for each ASEAN nation thanks to the streamlined application process.

An application for an ASEAN visa is anticipated to be processed promptly, in a few business days. The applicant will receive the visa by email after it has been accepted. After that, print a copy to bring with you when you land in any ASEAN nation.

The need for an electronic device with an online connection will be the primary prerequisite for applying for an ASEAN visa. 

You’ll also require:

  • A valid passport from a recognized nation
  • The ASEAN eVisa fee with a credit or debit card
  • A Valid Email Address where you can get your granted visa update.


Since the ASEAN visa has not yet gone into effect, it is likely that more restrictions will be added before it is officially introduced. 


So, when the date of implementation gets closer, visit this website for an updated list of prerequisites for the online visa.

Valid passports for ASEAN visas

The complete announcement of the list of nations eligible for the ASEAN visa will be made closer to the launch date. When the whole revised list of acceptable passports becomes available, please check this page.

Southeast Asian Nations Association

Some of the world’s fastest-growing economies are part of ASEAN. The union’s 600 million inhabitants make it the third-largest market in the world.

The Association’s founding objective was to foster greater intergovernmental collaboration.

It consists of three branches:

  • The ASEAN economic neighborhood
  • The Security sector in ASEAN
  • The Socio-cultural society of ASEAN

The following are the organization's main goals and objectives:

  • Accelerating social development, economic prosperity, and cultural advancement over the entire ASEAN region.
  • Fostering cooperation, cooperation, and mutual aid across the union in the region.
  • Member nations working together to advance agriculture and other industries.
  • Encouraging the study of Southeast Asia.
  • Maintaining tight ties with other international organizations, including the European Union, that have comparable goals.


By encouraging even safer and simpler interstate travel, the implementation of the ASEAN visa is anticipated to strengthen the economic and cultural ties among the member states.


The Association of Southeast Asia (ASA) was established in July 1961, and that is when ASEAN officially began. Three nations made up this organization:

  • Thailand
  • Philippine Islands
  • The Malayan Federation.


The ASEAN Declaration, which was published in August 1967, officially founded the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. Foreign ministers from Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand were among the signatories of this pact.

Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, and Myanmar were added to the Association’s membership over the following several decades. (formerly Burma). When Cambodia joined the group in 1999, the present list of ASEAN nations was completed.

Visa waiver for ASEAN members

All ASEAN nationals are exempt from needing a visa to visit other ASEAN members per a 2002 agreement. For brief stays related to tourism, family visits, or business activity, ASEAN nationals are permitted admission without a visa.

At a border crossing, all that is required to enter is a passport from an ASEAN nation. But the passport needs to be good for at least six months after the entrance date.


According to the common agreement, nationals of a member state are only allowed to stay for a minimum of 14 days in an ASEAN country without a visa. Each ASEAN member, however, is still free to choose its own visa policy. As a result, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore, among other nations in the union, allow for stays without a visa of up to 30 days.


Various third-country nationals are also exempt from the ASEAN visa requirement, based on the individual visa policies of each member state. The length of time a visitor may stay without a visa varies on both their nationality and the Southeast Asian country they intend to visit.

Currently, all foreign people who need visas to visit an ASEAN member state must submit separate applications for travel authorizations in order to visit each member state. They will be able to visit all of the members of the economic union with a single visa, though, once the ASEAN visa program is introduced.

Asean Countries

  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam